Melodies Of Sorrow

by Gurthang/Beyond Life



The release is currently streaming in its entirety at No Clean Singing:

GURTHANG was founded by A.Z.V. on 8th January 2010 as one-man death/doom project.
In 2011 bassist Stormalv and keyboardist Sam joined the band. In this lineup group released their first EP and debut album “Desolated in Darkness”. At that time, Gurthang’s music turned into darker, more desolate regions of doom.
The Year 2012 brought another lineup change – keyboardist Demon ov Darkness joined the band in time for the release of their second long-play entitled “Infinite Void” and another EP “Forgotten Deity”.
The third album, released in 2013 marked leaving funeral style and going deeper into blacker spaces.
However not for long, because group’s 4th record entitled “I Will Not Serve” brought music more powerful, full of anger, yet still in the blackened doom vein.


2011 - Gurthang EP
2011 - Desolated in Darkness (full length)
2012 - Forgotten Deity EP
2012 - Infinite Void (full length)
2013 - Excruciato Anima Immortali (full length)
2015 - I Will Not Serve (full length)
2015 – Melodies Of Sorrow (split)

Material presented on the split has been recorded by A.Z.V. back in 2013, and floats around black/death metal style with some industrial touches. Low tuned guitars, powerful riffs and distorted vocals.

BEYOND LIFE was created in 2009 by G.H. In the beginning it was a solo dark ambient project, however it changed in 2010 when M. and N.W. joined the group.
At that time the first demo "Three Steps of Human Life" was recorded. It combined DSBM with dark ambient.
The year 2011 was a breakthrough, when the EP "Prayers of Madness and Grief" was released. It was ritual dark ambient combined with heavy, improvised guitars and screams of V.O.S.
That same year brought another EP: "Wastelands" presenting post-apocalyptical dark ambient side of the band and showing the direction the group would choose for their first full length entitled "Blackened Sky", which was released in 2013 and it's the first release that included new guitarist A.
Currently Beyond Life is working on two new black metal and post metal albums, along with a number of smaller releases.

2010 - Three Steps of Human Life (demo)
2011 - Prayers of Madness and Grief (EP)
2011 - Wastelands (EP)
2011 - Ravens (EP)
2012 - Everything Dies (EP)
2013 - Blackened Sky (full length)
2014 - Mors malum non est, sola ius aequum generis humani (Demo)
2015 – Melodies of Sorrow (Split)

Songs on the split have been recorded between 2013 and 2014. It is a peculiar and compelling, 20 minute journey showing different style of Beyond Life, from cold industrial, through mixture of black metal and noise, to jazz.



released July 17, 2015

All music and lyrics written by A.Z.V.
All instruments performed by A.Z.V.

Beyond Life:
All music and lyrics by G.H. and A.
All drums, effects and vocals by G.H.
All guitars and bass by A.
Guest vocals in “Heavy Rain” by A.O.S.

Recorded at EXE Sound Studio during 2013 and 2014.



all rights reserved


Cimmerian Shade Recordings Denver, Colorado

Darkness Desolation Irreverence Suffering

contact / help

Contact Cimmerian Shade Recordings

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code